The Train Timetable

” Paradise was, in Christian medieval thinking, a special and meaningful place, both in time and space: It had been there since the very beginning of history when God created it as a home for the first human beings-and would still be there at history’s end. Revelations 2:7 alludes to it’s role at the end of times, promising

He that hath an ear, let him hear what the spirit saith unto the churches, To him that overcometh will I give to eat the tree of life, which is in the midst of the paradise of God.

Considering this, paradise had to exist through all time, thus also in the present- some-where on earth but unreachable. ”

Reference 

F. Schmieder, Paradise Islands In The East and West- Tradition and Meaning  In Some Cartographical Places on the Medieval Rim of the World., In T. Jorgensen & G. Jartiz (ed.) Isolated Islands in Medieval Nature, Culture and Mind 

Note

I realized last night I have no idea how to get to Iona. I now find I catch a train from Edinburgh to Glasgow a connecting train to the ferry terminal for Mull and then from Mull a further boat ride to the Island Itself.

As with the planning for any journey I appear to have more stuff than I can fit in the small backpack I like to travel with.

I have until the summer to work out what to take, what to leave behind and draw up a map.

Leave a Reply

