Mechanics

I scanned the verse in a moment of stillness after digesting dinner. I was surprised how fast the initial work out was.

Write the bones while it’s still fresh.

I am trained to speak verse, I also spent years learning how to project and work with my voice. So range of things I don’t have to think about much.

From experience I can see the potential with this one . I notice I am not in the slightest bit interested in meaning or historical context.  Sound, rhythm, and how I use that to absorb a crowd of people dictate the rules of the game.

It took me a couple of minutes to work out how to start the processes. I could now speak it well. Chance here do something further with a poem like this, perfect inflection, perfect absorption.

The first and last lines seem key to starting the processes.

I can start with a trick.

 

The invisible worm,
That flies in the night
In the howling storm:
Has found out thy bed
Of crimson joy:
And his dark secret love
Does thy life destroy.
These lines I can delivery straight to the audience. The first line, O Rose, thou art sick. I can convey the sense that it is a more intimate moment by not acknowledging I am aware of the wider space.
That I can do by using sound it’s merely a matter of technique. It takes some working out though because what I don’t want is the audience to get that sense of movement retrospectively, i.e when they become aware I am addressing them directly at the start of the second line.

 

This one I think has to work from the start. Physical gesture may play a role in signaling, but I suspect you can convey the sense fully in sound, practice will determine that fully.
The only other thing required is the pacing and inflection of the last line. Its delivery is slower than the rest and may demand a slightly differing in inflection (through I suspect not).
I have everything I need to work with. The movement between the first two lines, gives me all I need to get a sense of how to start and where to go. Where it leads is something else entirely.
It’s ripe for transformation. I am not going to stand it up on its feet and fully perform it and it’s only through this processes that it comes fully alive.
I may be able to pull a few further ideas from it though.
Note 
I was going to save this and rework it. Post it cold and I may repeat myself later and grimace at my language fail. I don’t have to think about the mechanics of these things with words I did not learn to do this reading a technical manual on the subject. Process is somewhat different.
Leave a Reply

