The Mundane

Last post an example of me making minor financial commitments using poetry as a guide. In this case blowing a large chunk of my festive book buying budget.

I was disinclined to use the Burns poem in performance until I asked the question, why do I care about it?

Ian Hodder’s book, Entangled: An Archeology of the Relationship Between Humans and Things. Reluctant to pick up as I am not sure what I will make of Hodder’s own entanglement in language and philosophy.

It does partly ask questions about how we care for objects. This does seem to play a role in how we make sense of objects or can arrive at a sense and understanding of them.

As with the poem, subject is enough to get over initial distaste or unease with the speaking subject.

So I took the plunge.

 

Leave a Reply

