Time To

Entangle Things

I am in literary review mode. I’ve given myself a year to make some patterns and start layering material. I need to come up with a plan, work out what to read and organize my time. that has to happen over a much shorter space of time.

I want to see to what extent I can use ideas about time as a thematic link. I also need to start to understand a new subject and explore potential relationships with the wild man. Astrology and magic.

Take as a starting point the life of a particular body of work on Hagiography. So book one is easy.

Heleen Birkett,  The Saints Lives of Jocelin of Furness: Hagiography, Patronage and Ecclesiastical Politics. Jocelin is a significant source for the middle ages, he also wrote the Life of Saint Kentigern, the major source for the Scottish version of the wild man. He largely ignores the subject, the legends are contained in what are known as ‘the fragmentary lives of Kentigern.’ These are stand alone texts relating the legend, which are sometimes viewed as surviving parts of a now lost Life of Saint Kentigern.

Not going to find anything about astrology, magic or wild men here but I may learn something about silence and difference.

Alongside that I now need to fully understand the wild man’s relationship with history and prophecy.

I am going to do that in two ways. I need to identify some key texts in regard to ideas about time from philosophy in general.

I am also going to do a compare and contrast using classical and medieval ideas about ethnology and cosmology as a thematic link.

Specifically I want to contrast the development and deployment of astrology in classical ethnology and that of prophecy and ethnology in the case of the wild man in the early medieval west.

Understanding relationships and differences here will I hope help me develop a toolkit to understand the fragmentation of the narrative in the later middle ages.

Effectively a history of ideas. I subject I am not particularly at home or comfortable with. But as I want to look at the subject over the long term, repetition and difference here a vital thematic element.

Identifying a bibliography on time next. One for classical sources after that.

Leave a Reply

