Enter King Richard the Second

DSC_0008

6.a.m. My pigeon encounter is over. My mind is empty, distractions gone. Not shot at this time before, the light is dull. But I do not need to think. I do not need to care about the image its not the point of the morning.

New day, new experience.

I have been studying how I may compare
This prison where I live unto the world:
And for because the world is populous
And here is not a creature but myself,
I cannot do it; yet I’ll hammer it out.

I don’t need to think about following the stage direction at the start of this speech, ‘enter king Richard’ it seems somewhat straight forward. I do however want a simple unlock and direct entry.  Dissertation length pieces will not cut it when you have to walk and talk at the same time.

Nor I nor any man that but man is
With nothing shall be pleased, till he be eased
With being nothing. Music do I hear?

Richard goes through significant emotional turbulence to reach his conclusion. How do you speak it, and hit the emotional range required from start to finish?

I think it is simple. He has already worked out his conclusions before he started. The speech is retrospective. His issue with the question is not with reaching a conclusion. He has already arrived at an answer, that is his problem.

Speak, get the rhythm, you arrive at a sense of time. You have to do that for yourself. Answers here cannot be taught. Such things are not enough.

Rehearsal and walk through are required. Richards situation makes such a processes raw and difficult.

It ends then starts all over again.

Acting is life. It is no more than to breath.

Leave a Reply

