Else of Somewhere

I desire the wood of allabair and argatbran, between fire and wall

I desire the three lean boars.

May a phantom come to meet me with the grain and milk of whoever it is on whom I cast it.

If this is destined for me, let it be grain and milk that I see.

If it is not destined for me, let it be wolves stags and wandering on the mountian and young warriors that I see.

 

Charactor is Fate

The text invites its audience to insert its own narrative and come to judgement. Its a rather neat dramatic device as the story can be constructed according to individual temprament.

Is this the result of want or greed. Its a trangresive act, one of theft. Does the protaganist have justification to behave in such a manner or is this an unwarrented act?

It seems to tell us something about storytelling in 9th century Ireland and the dramatic devices storytellers deployed to absorb and engage audiences by letting go and giving the listener the freedom to construct and shape the story.

Does this observation tell us anything about the nature of fate itself?

I have no idea but it seems reasonable to ask the question and look further.

Leave a Reply

