Halt and Catch Fire

I desire the wood of allabair and argatbran, between fire and wall

I desire the three lean boars.

May a phantom come to meet me with the grain and milk of whoever it is on whom I cast it.

If this is destined for me, let it be grain and milk that I see.

If it is not destined for me, let it be wolves stags and wandering on the mountian and young warriors that I see.

Still Life

Still stumbling around with this fragment and not moving very far. I am in no particular hurry.

So far I have the idea the text is structured to be interactive. The reader or audience listening is part of the creative processes and has to use its own imagination to creativly construct the emotional register of the actor here.

I feel the first clunk of academic language here and the urge to deploy the term social memory. It appears to be whats under construction in the text.

Text is highlighting social activities that a 9th century audience would be familiar with. It is also drawing an emotional frame that would also be familiar to all sections of Irish society.

See to what extent an emotional register of the text can be reconstructed by examining the situation it finds itself and its wider 9th century cultural context.

Significant wealth of material to be found in the bewitched.

6 thoughts on “Halt and Catch Fire

    1. Wealth of the bewitched is a historical thesis from witchcraft studies.

      In employing a magical practitioner you hand over knowledge and therefore power to them.

      ‘With every act of magic, magic increases.’ The magical performers power and hold increases with every act.

      Altered it as I think the poet is transfering power to the audience as a means of abosrbing it and drawing people in.

      The poem seems quite intimate and personal.

      Its not.

      Some boring historical thought on social organization lurking within the memorable language and waiting to come to the surface!

  1. Its an interesting one I think. Grows on you as it unfolds over time.

    I like its sense of time.

    But I also love messing about with electronics (been computerless for the last couple of days building a new machine, which has just been turned on), so it has a number of my intrests covered.

  2. let it be grain and milk that I see….

    building a new machine fits…i really know not a thing about electronics other than i love my computer…i like editing images more and more…have a fun day Jeb!

Leave a Reply

