Homuculus Argument (One Of Two Things)

Hautboys and torches. Enter a Sewer, and divers Servants with dishes and service, and pass over the stage. Then enter MACBETH

In discovering the relevance of this line. I don’t get anysense of having learned or discovered anything. Its sheer terror. I have to work at speed I have made a huge error.

The entire verse has come crashing to the floor. I had got that the start was not working. I went back and did a close reading of the text and caught the sense I needed to get.

Did not feel like that in the moment. As I could see no way out.

If it were done when ‘tis done then ‘twere well

It were done quickly.

I can’t see any way out the sense is,  if I do it, when I do it, I need to kill this indicision and do it fast.

I am hitting if and when to loud and to hard. I can see my first attempt at correction. If…………… it were done. Massive pause and let if hang on the air. I don’t need to hit it so hard and the volume goes down.

It does not seem like enough. I need to work out the full inflection range. That will give me a more detailed emtional register.

I have already done that with one part, ‘ twere well It were done quickly.’ This is no longer a single thought, its no longer simply a refrence to indicision.

Its in the moment and directly in reference to the imediate enviroment, the fear of being overheard, discovered, exposed. It has a past that is close to hand and felt and an altered sense, drawn from the present and being in the moment.

 

If it were done. When tis done. These thoughts are somewhat disjointed and discontent. When tis done seems to be a forcible attempt to kill the other thought or put it back in its cage.

Can I take out the discontentment and make it one thing?

Yes.

If it were done when tis done i.e if this was to end here and now.The be all and the end all here.

If I give it that sense it sounds too ugly, somewhat Forest Gump.

But I can let that remain unseen and unheard (for the moment).

What it does give me is an altered sense of time. If and when are not both refering to the imediate future. If it were done, is going beyond and moving further into the future.

Macbeth is trying to think in the moment and about what is near to hand, but his thought is overwhelmed by his ambition and the notion of success. Problematic desire as it is ensnaring and has the potential to obliterate any differing thought.

Macbeth has visited this space many times, it contains a lifetime of ambition.

He is on very familiar and well worn ground, He imediatly attempts to bury the thought with a forcible attempt to think of the present.

 

Tension and disconect between if and done. Its not a single thought the inflection range again is far more open to movement.

Being somewhat prone to lazyness I notice all my attempts to draw Macbeths internal world are based on the potential range that lies between if and done, all is contianed within the  first breath on the stage.

The begining and end of thought here is in a simple movement from one thing to another.

 

Leave a Reply

