The Four Seasons

“That boy, he will be the death of me.”

Years ago I found myself leaving a library into a rain storm after studying late 17th century texts. Someone hurried past with an umbrella, my thought on seeing that was, ‘a really wish I had a hat, I am going to end up getting the flu.

My next thought was to wonder what property a hat possessed that would protect me against a viral infection?

My great aunts insistence that my inability to put up my hood when it was raining would lead to the development of  ‘pleurisy.’

I can’t say I ever did put my hood up.

The Dawn of Zero

I feel another such moment.

Looking at the raw terms I have used and the actual language deployed in discussions about Laban. Clearly a match.

At this moment thats somewhat uncomfortable, it frames part of how I think, I have no real idea of what I think here.

In these moments anything is possible.

Note

“The Four Seasons are unique, 17th-century copperplate engravings from the Trent Collection that were digitally reconstructed from more than 200 photographs in order to reproduce the experience of lifting the multilayered flaps and volvelles to reveal various anatomical dissections. A metaphor for the stages of human life, the prints illustrate not only human anatomy but are replete with allusions to alchemy, astrology, astronomy, botany, geography, palmistry, physiology, uroscopy and zoology.”

Interactive web version of this ‘medical pop up book, can be found at Duke University

Leave a Reply

