Maintaining A Bad Sense of Humour

Whenever I try to think seriously I always get distracted. A sense of humour can be both helpful and unhelpful here.

I want to have a closer look at genius as like the wild man it has a relationship with melancholia and given the way medieval and modern medicine works this suggests a relationship with the environment. The Northern climate is better suited to the production of wild men than the production of genius. Some alteration of thought is required here. What is it and do any changes here effect both subjects?

I would probable be on safer ground relating the wild man to the realm of the monster. Noting this, I arrived at this stupid question; why like genius does the monstrous increasingly become associated in the modern world as a thing of a giant size?

I have no idea.

I ended that thought with wondering if I harbour some secret desire to construct a great chain of being in which Godzilla, Isaac Newton, Mothra, Winston Churchill, The Purple People Eater and Einstein all occupy the same position.

In life obscured by the placement of an object on the historical horizon, which from a distance becomes monstrous in size and scale.

Anyway I seem to be listing wider scale subjects I need to look at. Perception of time is certainly one of those, but it is not the only one.

Noticed one aspect of the subject I have missed, ideas that are unsuccessful and don’t really go anywhere. I have a heightened awareness of this in regard to my own thought but have had a tendency to ignore its role as historical entity.

I need to play the vexing game of finding a paper from the 19th century I read ten years ago. But I  may take a very rough stab at looking how the subject and history of the subject alters dramatically in the 19th century which presents the opportunity to open the subject up to collection by natural historians.

The wild man’s origins are empirically located in a particular geographic location in Britain in this period. The site of a battle is located, the potential geographic location for a cluster of folklore associated with Northern England and Southern Scotland is given a firm foundation and the posssibilty for scientific observation and collection of localy surviving myth and legend is on the table.

Further intelligence may be gleaned, new theories expressed. Scottish folklore is undergoing a psychological turn, so it is perhaps not a surprise to find vision and perception playing a tentative role in explanation.

Is the wild man something people catch out of the corner of the eye. Something that forms in a glint of light?

I can suspect as I know where this subject is also applied that a question that may be being asked here is what relationship does the wild man have with the fairy?

 

 

Leave a Reply

