So Far

Containing many strange and marvellous matters, not of before read or heard

1745 and all that

I’ve been writing on the hoof from memory and streaming it without giving it much thought. If one of the handful of experts in the medieval material I look at glanced at some of the posts they would shudder.

Playing with patterns by standing them up and running around with them. Sometimes you fall on youre face. Its the nature of the game.

Method encouraged on the stage and in art rather than in the university. I learned how to perform a prat fall long before I learned how to analysis a historical text. The issues that lead to painful mistakes are caused by the fear of falling. Tension caused by a self-fulfilling prophecy which screams, ‘this is all going to go bad.’ It’s a form of movement in which thought is of little help. It needs to be done and experienced first rather than analysed.

The trick is to keep you’re hands firmly at youre sides until youre face is inches from the ground then you pull youre arms up fast to cover youre face. It gives the audience the illusion you have not engaged in the normal reflex action to protect yourself. If the body is tense and anxious you cannot perform the movement and land on youre face. Its a split second decision and if youre timing is out because you are to tense to move in time, you are certainly going to feel it.

Parts of what I have written don’t work or at least not in the context I have used them. I’ve been trying to alter the way I think and shake myself out of the habitual way of looking at texts. I don’t want to find what I know I want to find something I have not thought about before.

I notice I have also let ideas that stem from reading late 17th century material bleed into the 13th century.

Time to get a bit more contextual.

At the moment lets say I am looking for a potential inflection range. Stretch things as far as they can go, see if they can move in a number of directions at once and still contain late 17th century forms of thought.

Call it an occult experiment in late 17th century thought. An attempt to find the one in the many.

Reference

The Whole Prophecies of Scotland, England, France, Ireland and Denmark Prohecied by Thomas Rymer, Marvellous Merling, Beid, Berlington, Waldhave, Eltraine, Banester and Sybilla, London, 1745

Leave a Reply

